Tis the season

Not that season – I don’t celebrate Christmas and it’s passed anyway. No, tis the season to get yourself together. It’s a new year. I know it sounds trite to say “new year, new you” but it’s real. It’s all in your head. Be the person you want to be. Say it out loud or to yourself but concentrate and mean it: BE THE PERSON YOU WANT TO BE. This is a theme of mine that you’ll see in future posts.

I met some really interesting and cool people in the past month while traveling for work (and play – you know how I do.)  I met people who LOOOOVED their jobs! Did you know such beings existed? Maybe I need to get out more. I used to be an accountant, and that was before I became a lawyer, so I know absolutely nothing about loving a job. My job pays the bills and supports my extracurricular activities (rowing, travel, rowing, shopping.) Tina Turner sang a song about how I feel about my job – What’s love got to do with it?!  But while I traveled, I met a television network executive, a freelance television cameraman, an IT professional, and someone who prescribes exercises to people with cardiac issues. Who grows up saying, “I want to prescribe exercises for people when I grow up”? These are job options that I didn’t even know were “real” jobs until I met successful people doing them. And they love their jobs! Amazing.

This is all to say that, in 2009, I want to be the person who loves my job. I’ve always wanted to love to go to work, but I’ve not quite figured out what I could do that I like enough to love it as a profession — AND that will pay the bills and support my rowing/traveling/shopping activities. The TV network executive seems to think it’s writing or script reading. My friend Quinn thinks it’s writing. I love writing and I love to solve problems. So let’s see how this goes. Holla.

Content and ideas copyright Samee on Everything (2009).

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Tis the season

  1. Pingback: First Day of School « Samee On Everything

  2. Athena

    You could definitely be an advice columnist. You may also like being a professional shopper. It would combine your love of shopping and traveling!

  3. Nic H

    This will be fantastic…I am curious to see what you come up with for your blog..kudos to you for writing. So far, I am intrigued. 🙂

    -Nic H

  4. sameeoneverything

    nicole – i’m test driving that option right now. 🙂

  5. How one incorporates his or her: experience, self worth, responsibilities and desires, into a happy and rewarding career, is a question for the ages.

    It’s even more difficult in a society that discourages critical thinking and condones mediocrity. Most people settle for less because they think that’s the way it’s supposed to be. They accept their lot as it comes.

    I’m glad you’re one of the smart ones… stay hungry!

  6. Nicole

    Advice columnist perhaps???

Leave a Reply

