Whammy!

One of my trusty local partners in crime, Black Mamba, and I (and other friends) go out here in DC, just hanging out, etc. We do a lot of people watching. There’s so much to see! DC has a cast of some real characters.

me and Mamba

me and Mamba

On Saturday night, it was just Mamba and me. We went to a popular local neighborhood establishment.  We were seated on the balcony, with full view of everyone coming in. Nice! As we sat taking it all in, Mamba and I were approached by a very nice and handsome “young” (definitely under 26) “local” (a DC native – although we don’t come across them often, we can usually spot these guys based on what they look like and how they speak).  He was a sweetheart. Mamba nicknamed him Beautiful Jesus because something about him did look Jesus-like (adult, not baby Jesus). I think it was the hair. He chatted with us for a few minutes in which time I found out that he had 2 children, and 2 babymommas. Hmmm…

After he left with his entourage, Mamba and I sat there just replaying that discussion. And then she hit me with it. “There was a game show that used to come on, that’s on Game Show network now, that I hate… Those contestants’d be trying to win big money! big money! but sometimes get hit with a WHAMMY! Remember that show?”

I remembered the WHAMMY sound or concept or something, but didn’t exactly recall the show.

She said, “Beautiful Jesus – he was so cute. But…2 children?? WHAMMY!”

Two babymommas?! WHAMMY!!

It was over. We couldn’t help ourselves!

Guys who look cute from afar, but not so much close-up? (the classic fake-out) WHAMMY!

Good looking person but a total bonehead/doesn’t vote/otherwise unsuitable? WHAMMY!

Married? WHAMMY!! (*And separated = married, from this single person’s perspective. Just FYI.)

Needless to say, I’m sure that guys have their own list of WHAMMY! items with respect to the women of the world. I’d be interested in hearing what these things are. I wonder if men and women share common ground on at least some of these items. Everyone has their own deal-breakers or WHAMMY!s, so one person’s WHAMMY! doesn’t always mean that the person is completely undateable to someone else. I understand that, hence my view on other people’s relationships: hey, somebody’s gotta date him! (just not me). Whatever works.

I’ve found that the best way to not end up with a WHAMMY! on your hands is to start with really getting to know yourself. Understand what you offer to another person and try to gain some insight into what you need from someone else. Figure out what you can or cannot, do or do not want to deal with in another person. If you figure all of that out, you’ll be head and shoulders above many other people out here in the dating world.

New spin on an old adage: one person’s WHAMMY! might be another person’s treasure.  🙂

* And do you know that after I took my dad’s advice to heart, improved my attitude, walked into work yesterday with all the swag and positivity and happy feelings, that yesterday was my day off… Good grief!

Content and ideas copyright Samee on Everything (2009).

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Whammy!

  1. Pingback: Free for All Fridays #7 - Deuces! « Samee On Everything

  2. Lia

    Wow great post! I honestly think Samee puts it best when she said “Understand what YOU offer to another person…” A few months ago I had a conversation with a female about this very topic. Like most people she had a list of qualities (criteria) that she looked for in a man – he should have his own place, his body has to be fit and in shape and more importantly ‘good credit’ and the list went on and on….. Now because of the nice person that I am 😉 I simply responded, “Well perhaps you need to start writing a list for yourself too.” Seriously this chick is 40yrs old, overweight and lives with her mom lets not talk about her credit. Are you kidding me? Too many people have unrealistic expectations, or like my boo puts it “Delusions of Grandeur”….

  3. sameeoneverything

    children!! calm down. keep it clean. no personal attacks in the blog comments, please! we are all communicative adults and we can express our opinions without being unduly harsh and overly critical of other commenters. – the “management”

  4. Samsonite

    I agree Nic H, which is why people like you are a whammy to me.

  5. Nic H

    I figured my Whammy may elicit some criticism as everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
    I do want to make it clear that my college graduate requirement does not stem from a belief that non-college grads are less intellectual or intelligent than college grads. That would be illogical and unreasonable. I agree with you Samsonite on your assessment of many college grads. I am far too rational for that. However, I do have reasons for my requirement…none of which I feel the need to get into. After all, it is MY Whammy. The point of the blog is that each person has certain things they look for in a partner. It is unique to the individual. Samee put it best…one person’s Whammy is another person’s treasure.

  6. Samsonite

    Ah, Press Your Luck. I can fondly remember watching the show on the USA Network whilst staying home from school for some reason or another. And on that note here are some I just thought of:
    1) Too much make-up
    2) Man-hands, on women. I’m not talking about the Seinfeld kind either; I mean a chic who is in need of lotion. Bad.
    3) Ig-nancy (Ignorant People)- Not stupid, but people who don’t have intellectual curiosity.
    3B) People like Nic H who have unreasonable bias against non-college grads. Seriously, most college graduates couldn’t think their way out of a wet paper bag, with scissors in their hand.

  7. Nic H

    Too funny indeed! This post is hillarious and so very true. I think there are near universal “Whammy(s)”, but everyone should have their own list of things they will overlook (put up with) and those they absolutely won’t. In my experience, when I have strayed from my own personal criteria (if you will), it has been nothing short of a disaster.

    For the record, I agree with you ladies on your identified deal breakers and will add a WHAMMY of my own. At the risk of sounding pretentious and being offensive…not a college graduate…WHAMMY! One other..Card-carrying Republican-WHAMMY! (It just won’t work!)

    That said, I am out!!!
    N

  8. Ur whammy, wifey's whoa mamma!

    Black Mamba…. hmmm… sounds poisonous. Let’s at least give it to the guy for sharing his world with you. Can never deny your offspring. I believe he was looking for an easy night. But as to the WHAMMY!!!! B.O. has to be on everyone’s list. Those who can at least smell. Breath, ok, it can be a bit tart at times…. but the body? Nah, WHAMMY! You and Mamba listed enough, but I happen to love that show. The old one and the new one. Just for info, it took 4 WHAMMYs to lose. So to all my ladies out there, here’s a word from Mr. Optimism, one WHAMMY shouldn’t count a guy out. I guess there are SUPER WHAMMYs that just totally banish people from existing, but sometimes guys need a chance. I believe you guys on this one though…. and Mamba seems pretty smart. I’m taking my 4 WHAMMYs and getting out of here.

  9. * black mamba *

    This is too funny, for those of you who are not yet acquainted with the old Press Your Luck…..

  10. Ur whammy, wifey's whoa mamma!

    Black Mamba…. hmmm… sounds poisonous. Let’s at least give it to the guy for sharing his world with you. Can never deny your offspring. I believe he was looking for an easy night. But as to the WHAMMY!!!! B.O. has to be on everyone’s list. Those who can at least smell. Breath, ok, it can be a bit tart at times…. but the body? Nah, WHAMMY! You and Mamba listed enough, but I happen to love that show. The old one and the new one. Just for info, it took 4 WHAMMYs to lose. So to all my ladies out there, here’s a word from Mr. Optimism, one WHAMMY shouldn’t count a guy out. I guess there are SUPER WHAMMYs that just totally banish people from existing, but sometimes guys need a chance. I believe you guys on this one though…. and Mamba seems pretty smart. I’m taking my 4 WHAMMYs and getting out of here. Peace out.

Leave a Reply

