You’re a mean one, Ms. Grinch

Ahhh February. The most wonderful time of the year, except for December, my birthday month. I heart February because (for the past 2 years at least) it’s been the month for Mardi Gras, my second favorite holiday. I’m not going home for Mardi Gras this year, but I hope to be riding a float in Mardi Gras 2010! Holla! 🙂  Because I love Mardi Gras so much (and for other reasons that I’ll detail in this post), I’ve never really paid any attention to that other February holiday – the one that’s coming up this weekend, Valentine’s Day. Grrrr.

I LOVE Mardi Gras!

I LOVE Mardi Gras!

I am no fan of V-Day. I might even be the Valentine’s Day Grinch. Yeah, the Grinch that stole Valentine’s Day. You’re a mean one, V-Day Grinch. I can see myself sliding down a Candyland-like ladder, picking off the chocolates (only the good stuff) but leaving behind those candy message hearts (fun but gross!)… But I digress.

Whether or not I’m dating someone, V-Day has most often been a source of awkwardness for me. It’s been a day when a male friend or two attempted to bust out of my Friend Zone. Boooo unrequited love. It’s been a day when I got a gift of lingerie from someone I was not dating — and did not want to date. A weird allegedly not-busting-out but seemingly busting-out move. On a few V-Days I’ve enjoyed a good dinner or received a great, thoughtful and appropriate gift.  But nothing that I hadn’t enjoyed before with the person; the dinner or gift just happened to have occurred on Valentine’s Day.

I just don’t like the idea of being compelled by holiday tradition to show love and affection. I think that’s what makes it awkward. And it just gets weirder the shorter the amount of time that you’ve known the person you’re dating, if anyone, when that holiday comes around. If you’re not dating anyone, people will hesitantly ask you…”So, what’d you end up doing on Valentine’s Day?” Look, it’s any other Saturday to me. This Saturday/V-Day I’ll have a real good story to tell those all those nosy nosettas, and it’s not because of any jewelry, lingerie, or chocolate that I may receive. My real good story will be because on Saturday, I’ll be in Madrid, Spain, at a museum, a cathedral, a plaza, a restaurant or just walking around the city with Number 4 and friends. Chances are very high that I probably won’t remember it as Valentine’s Day 2009, just like I have hardly any recollection of any V-Days past.

Whether you spend Saturday with someone you truly love, someone you’ve met relatively recently, a group of friends, or my favorite person – the one Katt Williams calls “your star player” (yourself!), make it as super a day as all the rest on the calendar. That’s my goal 365, so it definitely won’t change come Saturday. I try to show love to the people who mean the most to me at any time I can, which means that I don’t necessarily save it up for holidays or even their birthdays. I’ve found that the best gifts are the ones from the heart, no matter when they’re given. But some people trip off holidays, and I try to respect that about them and will usually wait to give them something that I picked up for them when they crossed my mind.

I’m not saying this to knock those of you with affinity for V-Day — by all means, do your thang. I’m just sounding off about the way I feel about Valentine’s Day. Have a happy Saturday, people! (and all the other days of the week/month/year!)

Content copyright © Samee on Everything (2009).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “You’re a mean one, Ms. Grinch

  1. Quinn

    I just don’t believe- for one day out of 365 days of the year that you are supposed to acknowledge that you like someone. That should be everyday, would you tell someone you’re dating you only have sex on one day of the year? Great post.

  2. McKang

    Good post. Paul and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. Have fun in Madrid!

Leave a Reply

