I’m back!

My apologies for taking such a long hiatus from my beloved blog. So much has happened between “Have a nice fall!” and now. WOW! I think this post is going to be a sort of Year in Review for me. Yes. I think so.

First of all, since I’m off the water and not on the board of directors at my rowing club anymore, I now have time to dedicate to writing and my classes. Starting in January, I’ll be taking 2 more classes through UCLA’s online program. I’m excited! One is in writing for 30 minute television (sit coms!) and the other is in story and plot analysis.

As you may recall, I took the writing for films but I’m not quite sure that film writing is my “thing”. At least not right now. But TV…that’s different. I think it’ll be better for me to develop my thoughts and ideas over time (a length of a show) rather than have everything go from start to finish in a film. That’s my thinking now, having no knowledge of writing for TV. We’ll see if this changes. Besides…every time I hear about a new TV show, it inspires me. I think – boy oh boy, if someone got the ok to produce this crap, then I think I have a good shot! 🙂

surf's up! last year i took surf lessons in hawaii on my birthday. this year...i had to work. 😦

What else is going on in the life o’ Samee? Work is work. Still at my same position, still in DC. I did have the opportunity to participate in a trial, though. The trial was the only thing that could make me work on my birthday, something I hadn’t done in about 10 years. The trial ended on my birthday and I got to do the closing argument. The whole experience was awesome!! As one friend said – I was like Matlock in a nicer suit! Yeah I was. I never did get to say, “You can’t handle the truth!” or tell anyone that they were out of order, but the trial was fun nonetheless. I did use the words “fun” and “trial” in the same sentence; I’m weird like that I guess.

Anyone who knows me knows that I like to beat people (in a nice and friendly way, but still.) I like to win. That’s one of the things I like about rowing. My dad thinks I might be a little too competitive. After one of my races this summer, he asked me how it went. I said – we won!! He said, yes, but did you have fun? Hmm…fun… Let’s see. It’s hot as Satan’s armpit and the water looks like an ocean stirring. I just rowed 1000 meters at 38 – 40 strokes per minute. Afterward, I thought I was going to earl or choke or choke on earl. Fun… YES I had fun Dad!! WE WON!!!

That’s how the trial was. I worked somewhat regular hours leading up to the trial but during the ordeal, it was 16 – 18 hour days. It was a 4 day trial. You do the math. I don’t know if we won the case yet, but I celebrated my personal (small) victories on a daily basis. My objection was sustained – yes! Your was overruled – yes! I gets it innnnn. The trial was the highlight of my work life this year. As a result, I’ll gladly omit the other work stuff.

Social life? Pretty much the same. Nothing to report. It’s cold out and I’m spending all of my social funds to transport myself to warmer climates. If you live in one of those cities, clear a spot in your guest room or futon because I may be calling upon you to relieve me from the misery that is Dec/Jan/Feb/Mar in DC.

There’s about 2 feet of snow on the ground, mostly on the sidewalks since the snow-removal-people in DC seem to think it’s a-ok to plow the streets but give no regard to the sidewalks or the path from the sidewalk into the crosswalks. Damn all that – I drove to work. I moved closer in and now my commute (if you can call it that) is a lengthy 8 minutes  in the car and a 2 minute walk. Love it!

That’s all I can think to write about at this time. I need to eat my evening meal, thanks to leftovers from my branch’s holiday lunch. YES I did take leftovers from a work function. They were offered and they were GOOD, and now I have a date with that delicious shrimp and grits dish (with smoked gouda – heaven!!)

Deuces!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’m back!

  1. Black Mamba

    Ok, I’m waaaay late – but so glad you’re back!

  2. akm

    funny, as usual. missed your blogging!! back to work for me. 😦

  3. Christina

    Thanks for the update! Congrats on your trial. I am pretty sure I will never use the words fun and trial in the same sentence!

Leave a Reply

