Masses of Asses

Today is April 15, the day personal income tax returns are due to be filed. Today is also a day of many protests by these “Tea Party” activists. Although I work in the District, I did not participate or go out to witness these events. Some people had to work today. BUT – I did have some eyes on the scene and the good ole WaPo to give me an overview.

First, though, I did some looking into this “Tea Party” movement. They official go by the “Tea Party Patriots” and are organized as a nonprofit social welfare organization, a section 501(c)(4) corporation under — what?!?!– the INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. You can’t take a charitable contribution deduction for donations to this organization. (Rejoice in the little victories!) Their mission statement is as follows:

“Our mission is to attract, educate, organize, and mobilize our fellow citizens to secure public policy consistent with our three core values of Fiscal Responsibility, Constitutionally Limited Government and Free Markets.” – from their website, teapartypatriots.org/mission.aspx .

That sounds like a decent mission, on its face. Especially the “educate” part. Check out these signs from today’s rally:

"Chang is Wat I Got in My Refund" - courtesy of JRN

"I'm Not A Hater But Your Working On It" - courtesy of JRN

My eyes on the scene said that the person introducing the speaker at the rally called “DC” the Devil’s City. If anything, the Tea Party members should see DC as a brother (or sister) in the struggle since DC residents really are taxed with NO representation, no votes in the Senate or HOR. I mean…since that was what the Boston Tea Party was about (taxation of the colonies without them having representation in the British government.)

Even more than the misguided reference to the Boston Tea Party, what troubles me is that my eye-reporter said that the crowd was all white. Couple that with the Washington Post article which interviewed a guy (Jerry Johnson), an attorney from Virginia who said this about President Obama:

“It’s not just because he’s black,” he said. “I wish I could tell you that I loved this guy, that he was a great president, that I had faith in him. But I have none. Zero.”

It’s not just because he’s black — oh no, there are many other reasons to dislike the President, to have no faith in him. Is that right? Not just because he’s black – that’s just ONE reason to dislike the President and have no faith in him?

I think that man’s quote is the essence of my problem with this “tea party movement.” They are dissatisfied with the President and oppose him on everything, but offer no meaningful solutions to the issues that they’re complaining about. But that might be because, at least for Mr. Johnson (but I suspect for many other supporters), there is no solution for one of his problems with our President. He can’t make Obama not black.

If that’s an underlying theme of the tea party supporters, then that explains the lack of racial diversity in the crowd. Because I’m telling you: if someone said to me, “Hey! Do you believe that our government should show fiscal responsibility and govern within the limits of the Constitution? Do you support a free market economy?”, I’d say yes to the first 2 questions, and “well…it depends” to the last one.

**

In other news, Caps game is going into O/T. I’m so mad that one guy in the picture has an Ovechkin jersey on…bringing shame to the Red! Go Caps and it’s still Thursday so I kept my word about posting! šŸ™‚

Content and ideas copyright Samee on Everything (2010).

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Masses of Asses

  1. sameeoneverything

    i read your link and some of the other posts. i like that you’re not blindly committed to one party or theory – but you’re basically just searching for the common sense, reasonable answer (like so many of us!)

  2. N

    Nice article. I have also noticed the racial makeup of the Tea Party Supporters…NOT one ounce of diversity in the crowd, at any of their events. The feel of this group and the rhetoric that comes out of it just feels racist and not at all inclusive.
    By the way, I love the horrible spelling on the signs. yikes! It’s fine to have an opinon of the President (god knows, I had many unfavorable opinions on G.W.B), but to say…”it’s not just that he is black…”. I think that says it all, sad and ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

